Love me, I’m just a Girl

Every time you tell me you love me,
You break my heart
With those three words you make a million promises
Promises that you will not keep
Probably know it
When you say it
But you just have to
Get my hopes up
And let me believe in you
And again
Comes the pain
Again
Comes the realization of how foolish and blind love can be
Again
Comes the promise to let you go
And again
You beat me up and let me yell out in pain
Just so you can feel like a man
Constantly taking advantage and defiling me
Making me feel less like a woman and more like a used tampon discarded in the toilet
Always using and abusing me
Making me feel less human and more like a used piece of tissue
Flushed down the toilet along with the rejects of your stomach


Days go by like winter is coming
Another Sunday comes and its time to fake a smile
Time to keep up the act, to hide the fact that I’m hurting
In my heart and in my mind
To the depth of my soul this hurt penetrates
The bruises on my skin represent your ‘love’ for me
Got nowhere to hide
No one knows what goes on inside,
You’ve got me too scared to speak out and admit what’s going on


But then you smile at me
Then you’re polite and nice and sweet
Just like a real man should be
And then, comes the realization why you won’t let me go
I forgive
All your mistakes
Wiped out and obliterated
Ready for a fresh start with you
And again
Comes the longing to be with you
Again
Comes the longing to see you smiling, showing just how much you care
And again
I fall for it
I open up my heart and
I let you in
Doesn’t seem to matter how hard i try
I can’t seem to let you go either
Because I will always love you, even when it hurts
Just like a daughter should. . .

DISCLAIMER: I HAVE AN AMAZING RELATIONSHIP WITH MY FATHER, BUT I WROTE THIS FOR THOSE THAT CAN’T SHARE IT THEMSELVES AND RAISING AWARENESS FOR THE INTERNATIONAL DAY OF THE GIRL.

4 thoughts on “Love me, I’m just a Girl

    1. Exactly, they almost usually determine how secure their daughter will be in the future. It is sad that some fathers take advantage of their daughters though, and the worst thing is, no one will ever find out.

      Like

Share your thoughts

