Day #11: What if we all knew our ‘Expiration Date’?

Jambo auxiliaries!

I am super ecstatic today because it’s Friday and the weekend is finally here. <cue Mimi na Yesu as today’s soundtrack> Did you see the blog post on the printer? Someone named it Bob Marley because it kept jamming. :-D. That joke just made my cold morning awesome. Still loving the 30 Day Writing Challenge though and the fact that I’ve made it this far. Thanks again for the love and support. If you’d like to know more about it, click here.

Today, I am writing about… Something I always think “What if…” about.

So obviously, I have quite a list of what ifs.

  1. What if God was one of us?
  2. What if Eve never ate the fruit?
  3. What if we used 100% of our brain capacity?
  4. What if the world ends the day after tomorrow?
  5. What if we really are plugged into The Matrix?
  6. What if this whole life we are living is just a dream that we will wake up from?
  7. What if there really are aliens?
  8. What if what we think is wrong is really right and what we think is right is really wrong?
  9. What if we could travel back and forth in time?
  10. What if Jomo Kenyatta hadn’t died when he did?

What I’ve always wondered is what would happen if we all knew when we were going to die? Like if we all had our date of manufacture and expiration date stamped on our foreheads, just like milk. Would we all be good people? Would we enjoy being bad then repent and be good just before we died? Would we try to prevent our death, knowing we would still die anyway? Would we not care at all and just continue being bad? Would we still be excited about life after death? Would we still even be afraid of death? Would we still marry someone knowing they would die soon after that?

I honestly wish I knew when I was going to die. I like to think I would be calm about it and just plan my time on earth accordingly. Schedule appointments to say goodbye to all the people that matter and put my affairs in order. However, I understand the panic this would cause because people are soo afraid of death and I still don’t understand why Christians are so afraid of it. God has promised us eternal life and described the kingdom we have to look forward to. Just like Paul said, “To live is Christ, to die is gain.”

Knowing this, I try to live my life as though I may not wake up tomorrow. Trying to get through my list of people to forgive faster. Trying to influence as many people just in case I won’t be there tomorrow. Things of the physical state can be delayed, like skipping a meal won’t give you any regrets if you die tomorrow. Things of the soul should be dealt with now. Like literally, NOW!!! If you love someone, tell them. If you need to forgive someone, do it. If you need to forgive yourself, do it now. If you need to repent and turn away from your sins, do it now. Accept Jesus as Lord and Saviour now. Don’t carry any baggage into your eternal life. Leave it all behind. That’s the motto we should all live by.

Share your thoughts

