Day #10: Why I Refuse to be ‘Just another Christian’

Jambo my people!

Today’s post is late because it is. Sorry. Just going to be that blunt and simple. In case you’d like to join the challenge and understand what it’s about click here.

Today’s challenge is… Write about something for which you feel strongly.

Earlier today, we were having a debrief meeting after training for a mission we are going on next week. As part of the training, we have been going through the booklet on the 4 Spiritual laws and encouraging the team to know them by heart. During the debrief, our pastor challenged us to share the gospel with someone on our way home. You can guess what my reaction was, that’s right, CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!!! 

So as I was walking home, I was singing a couple of worship songs out loud, because I am that person, just waiting for God to tell me who to share the gospel with. The first person I met was a man named Joseph and when I asked him if he knew about Jesus, he told me was a Christian, but not a serious Christian because he doesn’t come to church every Sunday. The second person I met was a man called David and he said that he was not a strict Christian because he doesn’t go to church often and doesn’t pray everyday.

On the rest of the way home, I began thinking about both their answers. I realized that most Christians think that being a Christian means you have to go to church every Sunday and be holy and perfect. I think this is a major misconception of Christianity. To me, being a Christian is being a follower of Christ. It’s that simple. It means doing everything that Christ did. Didn’t Christ pray everyday? Didn’t He fast? Didn’t He pray for others? Didn’t He feed the hungry? Didn’t He teach the gospel to all He met, including the Samaritan woman? Didn’t He know the scriptures by heart so that He was able to resist Satan? 

That to me is what being a Christian is. It is forming a relationship with God, a personal relationship that grows so deep that you allow Him to influence change in your life. That you start doing all the things that Christ did. Christ and the apostles weren’t at the temple everyday, they went to the people to share the gospel. They made disciples of others to continue spreading the word to the ends of the earth, the reason it has reached this far already.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think going to church is a bad thing, heck I’m there practically everyday. I think church is meant to provide an opportunity for non-believers to hear the word and for believers to fellowship with one another. But as you focus on coming to church every Sunday without fail, are you praying during the week? Are you worshiping God on your own? Are you reading the Bible for yourself? Are you sharing the gospel with others?

I think ‘conventional Christians’ have become selfish in that they are comfortable hearing the word Sunday after Sunday but aren’t sharing the word with others. I say this having come to the same realization a year or so ago after realizing that one of my closest friends doesn’t believe Jesus died on the cross for him. This was a challenge, to do all I can, to pray for him to have an encounter with God, just like Paul did, that he may know Jesus for himself. I encourage you to do the same, for your family, friends, workmates etc. Not by just telling them about church, but by encouraging them to build a personal relationship with Jesus. Don’t lead them into conventional Christianity, let them be discipled that they may be able to disciple others. Be the missionary that God commanded you to be, that’s the true meaning of being a Christian, by OBEYING CHRIST.

18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” ~Matthew 28:18-20

PS. In case you are not familiar with the four spiritual laws, they are:

  1. God loves you and offers a wonderful plan for your life. John 3:16, John 10:10.
  2. Man is sinful and separated from God. Therefore, he cannot know and experience God’s love and plan for his life. Romans 3:23, Romans 6:23.
  3. Jesus Christ is the only way man can reach God. He died for us, through Him you can know God and experience His love and plan for your life. 1 Peter 3:18, Acts 1:3, John 14:6.
  4. We must each receive Jesus Christ as savior and Lord; then we can know and experience God’s love and plan for our lives. 1 John 1:12, Ephesians 2:8,9, Revelation 3:20.
One thought on “Day #10: Why I Refuse to be ‘Just another Christian’

  1. Pingback: Day #10: Why I Refuse to be 'Just another Christian' | Christians Anonymous

Share your thoughts

