How I became a modern-day Jonah

Jambo auxiliaries!

Hope you have been keeping well. Hope that phrase is actually correct and it makes sense in your life, keep hearing it but have never used it myself. But anyway, I had quite an interesting week with highs and lows just like the weather. 🙂 for effect.

So anyway, I am currently a full time volunteer at my church and have thus been serving in a number of committees for different ministries. However, one in particular was stressing my life, literally! Actually got ulcers a number of times. For sometime now, we haven’t been doing what we were supposed to because we had a list of issues we felt weren’t being addressed. We had become completely wrapped up in ourselves that we began to focus on what we thought was the ideal and perfect way to do things instead of actually doing them.

Obviously, this was a red alert that something was wrong with us, internally and individually. Instead, we kept blaming each other and so many other things that we just kept justifying ourselves for the wrong we were doing. Sometime last week, our pastor intervened and asked us to clear the air and raise all the issues we had including their solutions. Afterwards, he helped us realize that we had lost focus and we were no longer serving God. We were serving ourselves. We were focusing on what we thought should be done instead of actually helping people.

At first, I felt defensive about what the pastor was saying to has. I had a justification for everything I thought was right but when he countered it with the Word, I was silenced and had no comeback. He also reminded us not to take the rebuke personally but instead to accept the correction with love and he also told me to look up Proverbs 27:5-6 which says “Better is open rebuke than hidden love. Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.” While he was talking, a song began to play in my head. (Yes I hear music in my head, if you don’t then you’re the weird one.) It reminded me of the choice I made to serve God and the submission of my will that was the prerequisite. These are the lyrics…

I have decided, to follow Jesus x3

No turning back, no turning back

The world behind me, the cross before me x3

No turning back, no turning back

We have also been doing a study on the book of Jonah since the beginning of the month. During today’s sermon, I realized that we have been behaving exactly like Jonah. He was sent and he refused to go because he didn’t think he would survive or that they would even listen to him in the first place. The subject in that sentence is Jonah. In the same way, we have been thinking too much about ourselves and not focusing on what God has called us to do. It happens to so many Christians. We get wrapped up in protocols and procedures we place instead of simply helping people. We get wrapped up in our expectations of what serving God should be and we instead end up serving only for us to feel better.

But God is faithful and just, ready to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. He is willing to sift the bad out of us and restore us to our true worth. All we have to do is repent, then trust and obey, for there really is no other way to be happy in Jesus. My prayer is, that as I have realized and taken responsibility for my actions, we can all do so and let God take us further. Humble yourself before Him, accept you have been wrong, and He will lift you up.

jonah-and-the-whale

One thought on “How I became a modern-day Jonah

  1. Pingback: How I became a modern-day Jonah | Christians Anonymous

Share your thoughts

