How to deal with adversity

Jambo auxiliaries!

So a few weeks ago, my friend Ndulu and I were going through her devotional book and the topic was adversity. It had verses and commentary on how to deal with adversity that were extremely relevant to our situations. Lucky for you, I have decided to share the ones that resonated deep within me. But first, I will define adversity for you.

Here are 4 bible verses that can help you deal with adversity:

  1. James 5:13 ~ Is anyone among you in trouble? Let them pray. Is anyone happy? Let them sing songs of praise.

This verse emphasizes that the first thing you should do is pray. And don’t just pray hopelessly, pray until something happens. Most of the time, majority of the problems we face when serving God are a result of spiritual warfare. Such situations must be handled accordingly and rebuffed through prayer. And when you are victorious, sing praises to God for delivering you just as His word promises.

2. Romans 8:18 ~ I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.

Try to keep in mind that what you are going through is temporary, trials always come to an end. I remember a time when we were unable to pay our electricity bill and KPLC dutifully came to disconnect it. It seemed like the worst thing that could happen to us at that time and after despairing and losing hope, all I had left was prayer. Soon enough, God opened so many doors that all our bills were paid and we were able to resume a better lifestyle than the one we had at the time.

  1. Luke 6:22 ~ Blessed are you when people hate you, when they exclude you and insult you and reject your name as evil, because of the Son of Man.

When I rededicated my life to Christ and began serving Him fulltime, I found it difficult to abandon my friendships hitherto. I didn’t want to be judged and called that ‘church girl’ and people having to be different around me but this is exactly what happened. The guys that were interested in me got tired of hearing that I was always in church. Some of my friends began to feel uncomfortable around me to the extent that we don’t even speak anymore. However, I am eternally grateful for the people God brought into my life to replace them. People that stand with me when I have 5bob or when I have 5000bob, because at the end of the day, we are all serving God together.

  1. John 16:33 ~ “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Jesus told us what it would take to pick up our cross and follow Him. He never said it would be sunshine and roses. He clearly said we would have trouble thus preparing us for the reality of our decision (Sort of like the ‘blue pill’ or ’red pill’ in the Matrix). He went on to give us hope and tell us that we should never give up because He was able to overcome the world. We have the power to do so as well.

Never give up because God is able to do mighty and glorious things in your life, if only you would just let Him. He is faithful and ready to restore what the locusts have eaten.


Adversity-photo

Share your thoughts

